Matthew Hudson-Smith and Morgan Lake added to World Class Performance Programme for first time as Andy Vernon, Goldie Sayers and Jo Pavey are among those to miss out

A total of 129 athletes are to be supported by UK Athletics’ World Class Performance Programme (WCPP) for 2014-15, while Jo Pavey, Andy Vernon, Goldie Sayers and Jenny Meadows are among those to miss out on funding.

The selection of athletes has again been based on the potential of winning medals at Olympic and Paralympic Games. The WCPP is funded by the National Lottery through UK Sport and split into two levels: ‘Podium’ for the athletes the governing body believes have the potential to win medals at Rio 2016 and ‘Podium Potential’ for athletes developing towards Tokyo 2020.

A total of 20 individual athletes have been selected to receive Olympic Podium funding and 26 have been named for Paralympic Podium support, while 39 Olympic and 26 Paralympic athletes have been selected on to Podium Potential.

Matthew Hudson-Smith is among the rising stars who have been included on the WCPP for the first time following a summer which has seen him win European 400m silver behind Martyn Rooney in Zurich and also form part of the gold medal-winning GB 4x400m relay team. The 20-year-old, who also anchored the England team to the Commonwealth relay title, is one of 18 athletes to receive Olympic relay funding.

The list of other athletes set to receive this level of support includes Richard Kilty, Dina Asher-Smith, Asha Philip, Jodie Williams, Eilidh Child, Martyn Rooney and Rabah Yousif.

Morgan Lake, who won world junior heptathlon and high jump gold as well as set a UK junior high jump record of 1.94m and broke the world youth heptathlon best this year, is among the 39 athletes named on the Olympic Podium Podium Potential list. Lynsey Sharp has been boosted from the second tier of funding to the top tier after a season in which she won 800m silver at both the Europeans and Commonwealth Games.

Maria Lyle, who broke the T35 100m and 200m world records and claimed European gold over both distances at just 14 years of age, has been added to the Paralympic Podium list which also includes the likes of Libby Clegg, Hannah Cockroft, Dan Greaves, Jonnie Peacock, Stef Reid and Richard Whitehead. Six-time Paralympic and six-time world gold medallist David Weir does not feature after having reportedly opted out of funding.

Pavey, who battled to European 10,000m gold and Commonwealth 5000m bronze, again misses out, the 41-year-old having been dropped from funding last year. It is the same situation for Meadows, while British javelin record-holder and captain of the GB team in Zurich Sayers, who successfully appealed her omission from top-level Olympic funding last year and returned to competition this year after surgery, has been left off. Vernon, who provided one of the breakthrough success stories of the summer with European 10,000m silver and 5000m bronze, is another to miss out, along with the likes of Chris Tomlinson, Nigel Levine, Daniel Awde and Julia Bleasdale.

“Competition for places on the programme is extremely competitive and this year the selection panel faced tough performance decisions based on such stipulations in this funding cycle,” said British Athletics performance director, Neil Black.

“Next year we are looking to build on the excellent foundations set in 2014 and I’m excited about how our athletes will fare on the global stage at the World Championships in Beijing and the IPC World Championships in Doha.”

Athletes included on the World Class Performance Programme (WCPP)

(Coach in brackets)


Olympic (20)
Holly Bleasdale (Scott Simpson), Lawrence Clarke (Malcolm Arnold), James Dasaolu (Steve Fudge), Hannah England (Bud Baldaro), Jessica Ennis-Hill (Toni Minichiello), Mo Farah (Alberto Salazar), Adam Gemili (Steve Fudge), Robbie Grabarz (Fuzz Ahmed), Dai Greene, Katarina Johnson-Thompson (Mike Holmes), Christine Ohuruogu (Lloyd Cowan), Andrew Osagie (Craig Winrow), Tiffany Porter (Rana Reider), Andy Pozzi (Malcolm Arnold), Shara Proctor (Rana Reider), Greg Rutherford (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo), Perri Shakes-Drayton (Chris Zah), William Sharman (Jerzy Maciukiewicz), Lynsey Sharp (Rana Reider), Laura Weightman (Steve Cram)

Olympic Relay (18)
Mens 4x100m – Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (Rana Reider), James Ellington (Rana Reider), Richard Kilty (Rana Reider)
Women’s 4x100m – Dina Asher-Smith (John Blackie), Desiree Henry (Rana Reider), Ashleigh Nelson (Michael Afilaka), Asha Philip (Steve Fudge), Bianca Williams (Lloyd Cowan), Jodie Williams (Christine Bowmaker)
Men’s 4x400m – Michael Bingham (George Williams), Matthew Hudson-Smith (Tony Hadley), Martyn Rooney (Rana Reider), Conrad Williams (Linford Christie), Rabah Yousif Bkheit (Carol Williams)
Women’s 4x400m – Margaret Adeoye (Linford Christie), Eilidh Child (Malcolm Arnold), Shana Cox (George Williams), Anyika Onuora (Rana Reider)

Paralympic (26)
Hollie Arnold (Anthony Hughes), Graeme Ballard (Tabo Huntley), Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk), Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Fuzz Ahmed), Mickey Bushell (Jenny Archer), Jo Butterfield (Phil Peat/Shona Malcolm), Libby Clegg (Keith Antoine), Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks), Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer Jones), David Devine (David Evans), Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes), Dan Greaves (Jim Edwards), Sophie Hahn (Joe McDonnell), Beverley Jones (John Parkin), Sophie Kamlish (Rob Ellchuk), Maria Lyle (Tabo Huntley), Dean Miller (Bud Baldaro), Stephen Miller (Ros Miller), Mel Nicholls (Job King), Stephen Osborne (Jenni Banks), Jonnie Peacock (Steve Fudge), Josie Pearson (Anthony Hughes), Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood), Stef Reid (Rana Reider), Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine), Bethany Woodward (Lee Doran)


Olympic (39)
Chris Baker (Sharon Heveran), Meghan Beesley (Nick Dakin), Dan Bramble (Frank Attoh), Lucy Bryan (Charles Preston), Ashley Bryant (Ian Grant), Chris Clarke (Steve Fudge), Luke Cutts (Trevor Fox), Mark Dry (Tore Gustafsson), Zane Duquemin (John Hillier), Tom Farrell (Mark Rowland), Niall Flannery (Nick Dakin), Emelia Gorecka (Mick Woods), Charlie Grice (Jon Bigg), Sophie Hitchon (Tore Gustafsson), Chris Kandu (John Herbert), Jessica Judd (George Gandy/Mike Judd), Morgan Lake (Eldon Lake), Jade Lally (Andrew Neal), Nick Miller (John Baumann), Eilish McColgan (Liz McColgan-Nuttall), Sophie McKinna, Mukhtar Mohammed (Jon Bigg), Laura Muir (Andy Young), Chris O’Hare (Terrence Mahon), David Omoregie (Mike Guest), Isobel Pooley (Fuzz Ahmed), Leon Reid (James Hillier), Andrew Robertson (Dan Cossins), Sebastian Rodger (James Hillier), Jazmin Sawyers (Alan Lerwill), Allan Smith (Bryan Roy), David Smith (Fuzz Ahmed), Serita Solomon (Lloyd Cowan), Gemma Steel (John Nuttall), Danny Talbot (Dan Cossins), Lorraine Ugen (Shawn Jackson), Chijindu Ujah (Jonas Tawiah-Dodoo), Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman), Delano Williams (Neil Harrison)

Paralympic (26)
Jonathan Adams (Jim Edwards), Kare Adenegan (Job King), Joshua Bain (Paul Welch/Kevin Bain), Samantha Bowen (Anthony Hughes), Olivia Breen (Jonas Tawiah Dodoo/Julie Hollman), Dan Bramall (Rick Hoskins), Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks), Meggan Dawson-Farrell (Ian Mirfin), Toby Gold (Jenny Archer), Jordan Howe (Keith Antoine), Abbie Hunnisett (Camilla Thrush), Moatez Jomni (Jenny Archer), Jade Jones (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson), Rhys Jones (Keith Antoine), Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin), Erin McBride (Robert Roberts), Maxine Moore (Allison O’Riordan), Stephen Morris (Chris Moss), Holly Neill (Andrew Roda), Georgina Oliver (Pete Wyman), Ben Rowlings (Job King), Will Smith (Jenny Archer), Laura Sugar (Femi Akinsanya), Isaac Towers (Pete Wyman), Kieran Tscherniawsky (Jim Edwards), Bradley Wigley (Jane Coia)

» See the November 6 edition of Athletics Weekly magazine for more in-depth coverage of the 2014-15 WCPP funding lists