Facts and figures from the men’s events at the 2014 IAAF World Indoor Championships in Sopot

It’s stat time again. Join us as we take a look back at some of the facts and figures from the men’s events at the 2014 IAAF World Indoor Championships in Sopot, Poland.

You can find stats from the women’s events here.


» Richard Kilty became the third Brit to win this title after Jason Gardener in 2004 and Dwain Chambers in 2010.

» Femi Ogunode won the bronze medal by a mere 0.003. His official time was 6.513 to Su Bingtian’s 6.516 and Gerald Phiri’s 6.519.


» Pavel Maslak moved to second on the European indoor all-time rankings with 45.24 behind Thomas Schlonlebe’s 45.05 in 1988.

» Chris Brown’s silver medal-winning time of 45.58 was the fastest ever time, indoors or outdoors, by an over-35.


» Mohammed Aman became only the third runner to defend this title after Paul Ereng in 1991 and Abubaker Kaki in 2010.


» Ayanleh Souleiman became Djibouti’s first ever world champion on the track and just the second on any surface after Ahmed Salah, who won the 1985 and 1987 World Marathon Cup titles.


» Bernard Lagat was already the oldest male medallist at 37 years and 90 days when he won this title in 2012 and he extended this record by taking silver at 39 years and 87 days. However, he will have to come back in 2020 to replace Yekaterina Podkopayeva (44 years, 271 days) as the oldest all-time medallist!

60m hurdles

» Omo Osaghae claimed the USA’s tenth sprint hurdles title at the World Indoors.

Long jump

» Mauro da Silva became the first athlete to retain this title since Ivan Pedroso, who won five successive titles between 1993-2001.

Triple jump

» Lyukman Adams’ winning mark of 17.37m was by far the shortest since 2001 when 17.32m sufficed for the title.

High jump

» Mutaz Essa Barshim claimed Qatar’s first ever world indoor title. The best performance prior to Sopot was Saif Saaeed Shaheen’s silver medal in the 3000m in 2006.

Pole vault

» Only 5cm separated the top-five vaulters, which was the smallest gap in world indoor history.

Shot put

» Ryan Whiting became the first thrower to tally two 22m-plus throws at the World Indoors. He won it in 2012 with 22.00m and retained in 2014 with 22.05m.

» An unprecedented five throwers surpassed 21m in the final.


» The GB’s silver medal-winning time of 3:03.49 was the second fastest by a GB quartet. The splits were: Conrad Williams 45.91, Jamie Bowie 45.92, Luke Lennon-Ford 45.83, Nigel Levine 45.83.


» Despite missing his world record by just 13 points, Ashton Eaton’s score of 6632 was still 156 points more than anyone else has ever achieved for the heptathlon.

» Stats from the women’s events in Sopot can be found here

» See next week’s AW, out March 20, for a more in-depth statistical round-up from Sopot