Trio among athletes announced for Sunday’s Loughborough International Athletics meeting as a home Loughborough Students team takes on British Universities, England, Wales, Scotland and GB & NI Juniors

A home Loughborough Students team will battle it out with British Universities, England, Wales, Scotland and Great Britain & Northern Ireland Juniors teams on Sunday (May 17) as Loughborough International Athletics action again returns to the Paula Radcliffe Stadium for what is traditionally the first major meeting in the domestic calendar.

England claimed victory in the overall team standings from Loughborough at this event 12 months ago and this year’s England team includes the likes of 9.96 100m man Chijindu Ujah and Margaret Adeoye who both run the 200m events, Rabah Yousif in the 400m, Serita Solomon in the 100m hurdles, Luke Cutts in the pole vault and Nick Miller and Sophie Hitchon in the hammer.

“I always enjoy the Loughborough International and last year was a bit of a breakthrough for me,” said Ujah. “Running 10.1 was great but this year is a world championship year, so me and my coach are in a different place.

“I’ve been doing a lot of longer work recently, so looking ahead to Loughborough hopefully I can get my 200m time down and put on a good show for the crowd.”

Jessica Ennis-Hill will compete as a guest in the long jump and javelin as she continues her comeback after almost two years out following injury problems and then the birth of her first child, Reggie. The Olympic heptathlon champion returned to action at Saturday’s Athletics Weekly Great CityGames Manchester where she finished third in the 100m hurdles.

The Wales team features athletes such as Commonwealth pole vault silver medallist Sally Peake and world junior 110m hurdles bronze medallist David Omoregie, while competing for Scotland is the likes of European and Commonwealth 800m silver medallist Lynsey Sharp, who steps down in distance to form part of the 4x400m relay.

World youth 400m champion Sabrina Bakare, world youth 100m silver medallist Ojie Edoburun, British junior pole vault record-holder Adam Hague and 17-year-old sprinter Charlotte McLennaghan, who smashed her PBs with a 11.66/23.09 sprint double in Derby last weekend, are among the athletes included in the GB & NI Juniors team.

The event gets underway at 11.30am on Sunday May 17, with tickets priced at £8 for adults and £5 for concessions. See

Full teams will be added below once available.

Teams for the Loughborough International Athletics meeting on Sunday May 17


100m: Kieran Showler-Davis. 200m: Chijindu Ujah. 400m: Rabah Yousif. 800m: Jamie Webb. 1500m: Steve Mitchell. 3000m: TBC. 110m hurdles: Dave King. 400m hurdles: Jack Houghton. Steeplechase: Doug Musson. High jump: Matt Roberts. Long jump: Dan Bramble. Triple jump: Lawrence Davis. Pole vault: Luke Cutts. Shot: Scott Lincoln. Discus: Alan Toward. Javelin: Bonne Buwembo. Hammer: Nick Miller. 4x100m: TBC. 4x400m: TBC.

100m: Montell Douglas. 200m: Margaret Adeoye. 400m: Kelly Massey. 800m: Rowena Cole. 1500m: Alison Leonard. 3000m: TBC. 100m hurdles: Serita Solomon. 400m hurdles: Aisha Naibe-Wey. Steeplechase: Mel Newbery. High jump: Bethan Partridge. Long jump: Jazmin Sawyers. Triple jump: Chioma Matthews. Pole vault: Katie James. Shot: Eden Francis. Discus: Jade Lally. Javelin: Jo Blair. Hammer: Sophie Hitchon. 4x100m: TBC. 4x400m: TBC.


100m: Dewi Hammond. 200m: Sam Gordon. 400m: Owen Smith. 800m: Carl Hill. 1500m: Guy Smith. 3000m: Rowan Axe. 110m hurdles: David Omoregie. 400m hurdles: TBC. Long jump: Curtis Matthews. Triple jump: TBC. High jump: Jonathon Bailey. Pole vault: Paul Walker. Discus: Brett Morse. Hammer: Osian Jones. Javelin: Lee Doran. 4x100m: Hammond, Gordon, Gareth Hopkins, Lemarl Freckleton, Iori Moore, Anax Da Silva. 4x400m: Smith, Adebowale Ademuyewo, Dan Blain, Paul Bennett.

100m: Mica Moore. 200m: Hannah Brier. 400m: Megan Rogers. 400m hurdles: Deborah Willis. 800m: Rachel McClay. 1500m: Melissa Courtney. 3000m: Stevie Stockton. Long jump: Rebecca Chapman. Triple jump: Sian Swanson. Pole vault: Sally Peake. Shot: TBC. Discus: Awen Rosser. Hammer: Carys Parry. 4x100m: Moore, Brier, Elaine O’Neill, Amelia Reynolds, Melissa Roberts, Emily Wright. 4x400m: Rogers, Willis, Rhiannon Linington-Payne, Laura Maddox, Rebecca Williams.


100m: Adam Thomas. 200m: Cameron Tindle. 400m: Grant Plenderleith. 800m: Ben Greenwood. 1500m: Myles Edwards. 3000m: Ian Williamson. 400m hurdles: David Martin. Steeplechase: Lachlan Oates. High jump: David Smith. Long jump: Peter Muirhead. Triple jump: Chuxx Onyia. Pole vault: Gregor MacLean. Discus: Angus McInroy. Shot: Jamie Stevenson. Hammer: Chris Bennett. Javelin: Greg Millar. 4x100m: Adam Thomas, Alec Thomas, Stephen Dunlop, Cameron Tindle. 4x400m: Grant Plenderleith, David Martin, Martin Lipton, Ben Greenwood.

100m: Kathryn Christie. 200m: Alisha Rees. 400m: Zoey Clark. 800m: Emily Dudgeon. 1500m: Kathryn Gillespie. 3000m: Steph Pennycook. 400m hurdles: Katie Purves. Long jump: Sarah Warnock. Triple jump: Zara Asante. Pole vault: Courtney MacGuire. Discus: Kirsty Law. Hammer: Rachel Hunter. Javelin: Aileen Rennie. Shot: Kirsty Yates. 4x100m: Kathryn Christie, Alisha Rees, Selina Henderson, Jill Cherry. 4x400m: Lynsey Sharp, Diane Ramsay, Zoey Clark, Kelsey Stewart.


100m: Ojie Edoburun. 200m: Thomas Ramdhan. 400m: Nick Petrou. 800m: Spencer Thomas. 1500m: Robbie Fitzgibbon. 3000m: Gus Cockle. 110m hurdles: Jack Hatton. 400m hurdles: Jack Lawrie. 3000m steeplechase: Richard Webb. High jump: Rory Dwyer. Pole vault: Adam Hague. Long jump: Jacob Fincham-Dukes. Triple jump: Montel Nevers. Shot: Adam Graham. Hammer: Jac Palmer. Discus: George Armstrong. Javelin: Harry Hughes. 4x100m: Edoburun, Reuben Arthur, Thomas Ramdhan, Joseph Dewar, Theo Etienne, Elliot Powell.
4x400m: Petrou, Lee Thompson, Cameron Chalmers, Freddie Owsley, Daniel Rowden, Joseph Reid.

100m: Shannon Hylton. 200m: Charlotte McLennaghan. 400m: Laviai Nielsen. 800m: Mhairi Hendry. 1500m: Bobby Clay. 3000m: Phoebe Law. 100m hurdles: Mollie Courtney. 400m hurdles: Georgina Rogers. 3000m steeplechase: Catrina Thomas. High jump: Emily Borthwick. Pole vault: Abigail Roberts. Long jump: Emily Wright. Triple jump: Lia Stephenson. Shot: Adele Nicholls. Hammer: Rebecca Keating. Discus: Amy Holder. Javelin: Emma Hamplett. 4x100m: McLennaghan, Shannon Hylton, Megan Marrs, Daryll Neita, Kristie Edwards, Imani Lansiquot. 4x400m: Lavaia Nielsen, Lina Nielsen, Cheriece Hylton, Lily Beckford, Kelsey Stewart, Sabrina Bakare.


Long jump: Jessica Ennis-Hill. Javelin: Ennis-Hill