British Athletics announces 27-strong team for the IAAF World Youth Championships

Twenty-seven athletes have been selected for the Great Britain & Northern Ireland team for the IAAF World Youth Championships in Cali, Colombia, on July 15-19.

Hannah Brier, the Welsh junior record-holder with her 11.44 from the England Athletics Under-20 Championships earlier this month, is among the medal hopes for the under-18 competition. She is ranked sixth in the world in her age group.

Carys McAulay will head to Colombia with high hopes as she is ranked fifth under-18 in the world over 800m this year.

Cameron Tindle in the men’s 200m and Alex Yee in the 3000m are European No.1s in their events and will be seeking to make an impact in Cali.

Hannah Williams, sister of European 200m silver medallist Jodie, will run in the 400m, where she will be joined by Catherine Reid, who is world-ranked ninth behind five Americans.

Other medal contenders include Oliver Bromby (100m) and Naomi Ogbeta (triple jump), who are both world-ranked seventh in their events.

The squad also includes 1500m runner Markhim Lonsdale, who is coached by AW’s performance section editor David Lowes.

Team leader Alan Richardson said: “We have a really promising team heading to Cali and I’m looking forward to seeing how they perform on the world stage in this age-group.

“The athletes selected show potential to be competitive at world level and I am sure they will perform excellently as well as using this championship as a springboard to longer term senior success.”

GB & NI team

100m: Oliver Bromby, Rechmial Miller
200m: Toby Harries, Cameron Tindle
800m: Ben Greenwood
1500m: James Gormley, Markhim Lonsdale
3000m: Alex Yee
2000m steeplechase: William Battershill
Pole vault: Joel Leon Benitez
Discus: George Evan
Hammer: Jake Norris
Decathlon: Sam Talbot

100m: Hannah Brier
400m: Catherine Reid, Hannah Williams
800m: Carys McAulay
1500m: Harriet Knowles-Jones, Sabrina Sinha
100m hurdles: Alicia Barrett, Hope Sarti
High jump: Ada’ora Chigbo
Long jump: Emily Wright
Triple jump: Naomi Ogbeta
Javelin: Emma Hamplett
Heptathlon: Niamh Emerson, Michelle Hughes