Both entry standards and the new IAAF world ranking system will determine which athletes are eligible for selection

The qualification system and entry standards for the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo have been approved by the IAAF Council during the first session of its two-day meeting meeting in Doha.

The timetables for three 2020 World Athletics Series events – the World Indoor Championships, World Half Marathon Championships and World Race Walking Team Championships – were also agreed as the council met in the host city for the IAAF World Championships taking place later this year.

“After extensive consultation with key stakeholders, the Council has decided to introduce a dual qualification system, combining both the entry standards and the new world ranking system, to determine which athletes are eligible for Olympic selection in 2020,” said the IAAF.

The world governing body had initially intended to use the new world rankings system to qualify athletes for the World Championships in Doha but later decided to continue to use entry standards while the period of consultation for the new system was extended.

Under the new qualification process, athletes can qualify for the 2020 Olympics by either achieving the relevant entry standard within the respective qualification period, or by virtue of their IAAF world ranking position in the selected event at the end of the respective qualification period.

“The process is designed to achieve about 50% of the target numbers for each event through entry standards and the remaining 50% through the IAAF world ranking system,” added the IAAF.

As a result, the entry standards (below) are tougher in every discipline than for Rio in 2016.

“The IAAF consulted with the Competition, Athletes’ and Coaches’ Commissions prior to this decision and will continue working with the Athletes’ Commission, the Athletes Representatives (ARs) and the Member Federations (MFs) to ensure the qualification system is well understood. Workshops will be scheduled with athletes, ARs and MFs during this year,” said the governing body.

The qualification periods are from January 1, 2019, to May 31, 2020, for the marathon and 50km race walk; from January 1, 2019, to June 29, 2020, for the 10,000m, 20km race walk and combined events; and from May 1, 2019, to June 29, 2020, for all other events.

9:30.003000m steeplechase8:22.00
12.84100/110m hurdles13.32
55.40400m hurdles48.90
1.96High jump2.33
4.70Pole vault5.80
6.82Long jump8.22
14.32Triple jump17.14
18.50Shot put21.10
1:31:0020km race walk1:21:00
-50km race walk3:50:00

Following the end of the qualification period, the IAAF says it will confirm the number of athletes having achieved the entry standard, plus the approved unqualified athletes, and shall subsequently determine the athletes qualified by virtue of their IAAF world ranking position.

The IAAF world rankings for each event are set to be published on the IAAF website on July 1, 2020.

The full qualification system document can be found here, including details of the athletes quota and entry numbers per event.

Meanwhile, the timetables for the World Indoor Championships in Nanjing, World Half Marathon Championships in Gdynia and World Race Walking Team Championships in Minsk are detailed here.

Every session at the World Indoor Championships, taking place from March 13-15, will feature finals.

IAAF president Seb Coe (pictured) and the IAAF Council were welcomed to Doha by HE Sheikh Joaan bin Hamad al-Thani, the president of the local organising committee for the World Championships taking place from September 27 to October 6.

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram