Molly Caudery, Jake Norris, Jona Efoloko and Jake Heyward in 40-strong squad for next month’s global junior event in Tampere

Fresh from breaking UK under-20 records this month, pole vaulter Molly Caudery and hammer thrower Jake Norris have been picked as part of the British team for the IAAF World Under-20 Championships in Tampere, Finland, on July 10-15.

Caudery cleared 4.53m as she won the junior international meeting in Mannheim last weekend, while Norris also won at the German event as he came close to the 80.45m UK under-20 record he set in Bedford the previous week.

Niamh Emerson, the Commonwealth bronze medallist, tackles the heptathlon but will face tough opposition from European rivals.

Jona Efoloko leads the sprint hopes in the men’s 100m, while European junior 1500m champion Jake Heyward heads the middle-distance hopes.

The competition will be hard, though, as Britain won just one medal at the last World Under-20 Championships – in 2016 in Bydgoszcz – a gold from race walker Callum Wilkinson.

The team follows the recent announcement of the GB team for the European Under-18 Championships in Gyor.

The GB team for Tampere is as follows…


100m: Dom Ashwell (Shaftesbury Barnet), Chad Miller (Hercules Wimbledon); 200m: Charlie Dobson (Colchester Harriers), Jona Efoloko (Sale Harriers Manchester); 800m: Alex Botterill (City of York), Markhim Lonsdale (Crook); 1500m: Jake Heyward (Cardiff); 5000m: Tom Mortimer (Stroud); 110m hurdles: Jason Nicholson (Gateshead Harriers), Josh Zeller (Bracknell AC); 400m hurdles: Alastair Chalmers (Guernsey), Alex Knibbs (Amber Valley & Erewash); Discus: James Tomlinson (Pembrokeshire); Hammer: Jake Norris (WSEH), Bayley Campbell (WSEH); 4x100m: Ashwell, Dobson, Efoloko, Miller, Kaie Chambers-Brown (Birchfield Harriers), Michael Olsen (Edinburgh AC); 4x400m: Chalmers, Joe Brier (Swansea), Alex Haydock-Wilson (WSEH), Charles Hilliard (Birchfield Harriers), Aidan Leeson (Rugby & Northampton)


100m: Kristal Awuah (Herne Hill Harriers); 200m: Alisha Rees (Edinburgh AC), Georgina Adam (Lincoln Wellington); 800m: Isabelle Boffey (Enfield & Haringey), Katy-Ann McDonald (Blackheath & Bromley); 1500m: Francesca Brint (Sale Harriers Manchester), Erin Wallace (Giffnock North); 3000m: Amelia Quirk (Bracknell); 3000m steeplechase: Holly Page (Dartford Harriers); High jump: Abby Ward (Wakefield); Pole vault: Molly Caudery (Cornwall AC); Long jump: Lucy Hadaway (City of York), Holly Mills (Andover); Heptathlon: Niamh Emerson (Amber Valley & Erewash), Jade O’Dowda (Oxford City); Hammer: Katie Head (Newham & Essex Beagles); 4x100m: Adam, Awuah, Rees, Ebony Carr (Marshall Milton Keynes), Veru Chinedu (Cambridge Harriers), Mair Edwards (Basingstoke & Mid Hants)