Sally Pearson, Jared Tallent, Valerie Adams and Nick Willis among athletes heading to the IAAF World Championships in August

Athletics Australia and Athletics New Zealand have announced their initial team selections for August’s IAAF World Championships in Beijing.

Sally Pearson, Jared Tallent and Kim Mickle are among the 26 Australian athletes set to be heading to China, while New Zealand’s selections are led by Valerie Adams, Nick Willis and Tom Walsh.

The next round of selections for both teams are due to be announced on May 18, with final selections on August 10.

Pearson, Tallent and Mickle were Australia’s three medallists at the last edition of the event in Moscow in 2013, Olympic and Commonwealth 100m hurdles champion Pearson having claimed silver after her gold in the event two years earlier in Daegu. Tallent won a second world 50km race walk bronze in Moscow which followed two Olympic silvers in 2008 and 2012. Mickle secured world javelin silver the year before claiming the Commonwealth title in Glasgow.

They will be joined by the likes of Commonwealth champions Eleanor Patterson in the high jump, Alana Boyd in the pole vault and Dani Samuels in the discus.

Adams claimed her fourth consecutive world shot put title in Moscow, the 30-year-old also having won two Olympic golds, three world indoor titles and three Commonwealth titles. She will be joined by the likes of Willis, who returns to Beijing having won Olympic 1500m silver in the Bird’s Nest in 2008, Commonwealth silver medallist Tom Walsh and his fellow shot putter Jacko Gill.

The Great Britain & Northern Ireland team is to be selected in two selection meetings – one for marathon and 50km race walk athletes on April 26 and one for all remaining events on July 27. The full team is due to be announced on July 28.

Australia initial team for Beijing 2015

800m: Jeff Riseley, Alex Rowe
110m hurdles: Nicholas Hough
High jump: Joel Baden, Brandon Starc
Discus: Julian Wruck
Javelin: Hamish Peacock
20km race walk: Dane Bird-Smith, Jared Tallent
50km race walk: Chris Erickson, Jared Tallent

100m: Melissa Breen
200m: Ella Nelson
5000m: Eloise Wellings*
100m hurdles: Michelle Jenneke, Sally Pearson
400m hurdles: Lauren Wells
3000m steeplechase: Madeline Heiner, Victoria Mitchell
High jump: Eleanor Patterson
Pole vault: Alana Boyd, Nina Kennedy
Long jump: Brooke Stratton
Discus: Dani Samuels
Javelin: Kim Mickle, Kathryn Mitchell, Kelsey-Lee Roberts
*subject to ratification of performance on March 26, 2015

New Zealand initial team for Beijing 2015

1500m: Nick Willis
5000m: Nick Willis
Shot put: Jacko Gill, Tom Walsh
Javelin: Stuart Farquhar
20km race walk: Quentin Rew
50km reace walk: Quentin Rew

3000m steeplechase: Rosa Flanagan
Shot put: Valerie Adams
Heptathlon: Portia Bing