Reigning world champions Jonathan Albon and Charlotte Morgan among athletes selected for Argentina event

Two reigning world champions headline the British team set to compete at the World Long Distance Mountain Running Championships in Villa La Angostura, Argentina, on November 16.

Charlotte Morgan won the women’s race at the 2018 edition of the championships, becoming the second British woman to win the race in two years following Annie Conway’s success in 2016. Meanwhile, Jonathan Albon (pictured) was crowned the IAU/ITRA trail world champion in June, also winning team silver, and he leads the men’s squad.

READ MORE: Jon Albon – the greatest runner you’ve never heard of

Both will head to Patagonia as part of two strong quartets who will face the world’s best long-distance mountain runners over 42km.

Morgan is joined by Victoria Wilkinson, who was also part of the world silver medal-winning team in 2018.

Kirsteen Welch, winner of the Snowdonia Marathon – which also acted as the trials for this championship – and Sara Willhoit both earn their maiden call-ups to a GB & NI team.

In the men’s team, Albon will be joined by winner of the trials, Nick Swinburn, the 2009 world mountain running silver medallist.

Seb Batchelor earns a call-up to his third British team of the year following the European mountain running championships and trail worlds, as does Tom Evans, last year’s IAU/ITRA trail world championships bronze medallist.

READ MORE: How Tom Evans prepared for Western States

Team leader, Anne Buckley, said: “I’m really pleased that we have selected eight athletes to represent the country at this challenging championship in Patagonia. We have seen some really encouraging performances over the long distances in mountain running this year, so we have plenty of depth in the teams.

“We have experienced members of the team who have won individual and team medals for GB & NI in the past, and it is great to welcome Kirsteen and Sara into the team for the first time.”

British team for the World Long Distance Mountain Running Championships

Charlotte Morgan
Kirsteen Welch
Victoria Wilkinson
Sara Willhoit

Jonathan Albon
Sebastian Batchelor
Tom Evans
Nick Swinburn

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram