The Chicago Marathon champion and three-time Olympic gold medallist has been announced for the London event along with Stanley Biwott and Tatyana McFadden

A year after clocking her superb 2:17:56 on the streets of the UK capital, Tirunesh Dibaba will return to race at the Virgin Money London Marathon on April 22.

The Ethiopian distance running great, who has claimed three Olympic and five world titles on the track, ran the third fastest ever marathon time in a women-only race in 2017, when she finished as runner-up to Kenya’s Mary Keitany.

Dibaba is aiming to finish one better this time around and her victory at the Bank of America Chicago Marathon last October put her joint top of the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XI leaderboard, which started with last year’s London Marathon and concludes after this year’s race.

A win for Dibaba in London this year would secure her the AWMM Series XI title.

“I am going to be well prepared to win the London Marathon and I believe it’s possible to win,” said Dibaba, who made her marathon debut in London in 2014, when she clocked 2:20:35 for third.

The announcement of Dibaba for the event comes on the third day of London Marathon’s ‘Elite Week’.

Also added to the entry lists are Kenya’s Stanley Biwott and Ethiopia’s Guye Adola, who will join the already-announced Eliud Kipchoge, Kenenisa Bekele and Mo Farah in the elite men’s race.

Two-time London Marathon runner-up and 2015 New York City Marathon champion Biwott clocked his 2:03:51 PB in London in 2016, while Adola ran the fastest debut marathon in history when he clocked 2:03:46 to finish behind Kipchoge in Berlin last year.

Joining David Weir in the elite wheelchair fields will be USA’s multiple Paralympic and world gold medallist Tatyana McFadden, who after winning four times was forced to miss last year’s London Marathon due to life-threatening blood clots, plus Switzerland’s two-time winner Marcel Hug.

Further elite field announcements will be made over the next couple of days, with ‘Elite Week’ concluding with a live show streamed on Facebook on Thursday January 25 at 18:30 GMT when experts will discuss the 2018 line-ups.