Adam Gemili and Steph Twell on UKA Athletes’ Commission

Adam Gemili and Steph Twell on UKA Athletes’ Commission
Hannah England remains chair of the Commission

Nathan Douglas, Adam Gemili, Steph Twell and Vanessa Wallace have been elected to the UK Athletics (UKA) Athletes’ Commission.

They will serve a minimum two-year term.

Olympic and world sprint  finalist Adam Gemili joins the Commission following his spell as an ex-officio member, while two-time European triple jump silver medallist Nathan Douglas and European and Commonwealth track medallist Steph Twell are elected for the first time.

World F34 shot put bronze medallist Wallace is re-elected to the Commission, having first been elected in 2018.

Hannah England, chair of the Commission, said: “The Athletes’ Commission is delighted to welcome new members Adam, Nathan and Steph, and congratulate Vanessa on being re-elected for a second term.

“We were so glad to see the quality and quantity of applicants this year and to see the voting numbers rise in this, our second, election. This high engagement further emphasises the importance of the athlete voice in our sport.

“We look forward to working hard to continue our representation of our athlete community and collaborating with UK Athletics and the HCAFs to create the best possible environment for welfare and performance.

“Lastly, on behalf of the Commission, I would like to thank departing members, Abdul Buhari, John Pares and Richard Yates, for their time and energy over the first three years of the UKAAC.”

Joanna Coates, CEO of UKA, added:

“Congratulations to Adam, Nathan and Steph on their election, and Vanessa on her re-election, to the UK Athletics Athletes’ Commission. These four individuals join at an incredibly important time for the sport. Working alongside Hannah and the other members, their insight will be invaluable as we continue to strive to amplify the voices of our athletes across the sport.

“We are committed to putting athletes at the heart of what we do, and I look forward to working with all members of the Commission to achieve that goal in the years ahead.”

Holly Bradshaw, Ashley Bryant, Dan Greaves, Andrew Heyes, Stephen Miller, Naomi Ogbeta and Richard Whitehead complete the 12-strong Commission.

» For more on the latest athletics news, athletics events coverage and athletics updates, check out the AW homepage and our social media channels on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About The Author


Twitter Feed

75 years, an estimated 3500 issues and approaching 200,000 pages 🤩

We're celebrating the diamond anniversary of AW! 💎

👉 #AW75

Steve Smythe analyses the career of the man who has held the world triple jump record for 25 years 🔥

Check out our special diamond anniversary issue (available to order now!) for an interview with Edwards as he reflects on his WR performance.

Load More...


Jan 06

Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend

January 6, 2021 - January 10, 2021
Apr 18


April 18, 2021
Apr 18
Apr 25

ABP Southampton Marathon

April 25, 2021
May 02

Three Forts Challenge

May 2, 2021
May 21

Keswick Mountain Festival

May 21, 2021 - May 23, 2021