Mo Farah, Laura Muir and Katarina Johnson-Thompson all named in two events each for IAAF World Championships in London

The British team for next month’s IAAF World Championships in London was announced in Loughborough on Tuesday.

As expected, Mo Farah will defend his world 5000m and 10,000m titles and Laura Muir was also confirmed for both the 1500m and 5000m, while Katarina Johnson-Thompson is another athlete set to have a busy championships by being picked for the heptathlon and high jump.

Selectors kept faith with Dina Asher-Smith by naming her for the women’s 200m and 4x100m despite her under-par form lately following injury. Although she hasn’t contested the event to achieve the qualifying standard of 23.10 so far this year, the British 100m and 200m record-holder remained in the mix as the reigning European champion in the half-lap event.

Adam Gemili does miss out on an individual place, though, with Zharnel Hughes preferred in the men’s 200m. Both are included in the 4x100m squad.

Reigning world long jump champion Greg Rutherford is also named in the team despite current injury and fitness concerns, while Perri Shakes-Drayton makes a welcome return from injury by being named in the 4x400m squad.

She will not be joined in that squad by Christine Ohuruogu, however, as the two-time world 400m gold medallist and 2008 Olympic champion is absent from a global GB senior team for the first time since her debut at the 2004 Olympics in Athens.

“This feels bigger for us than Rio,” said Neil Black, the British Athletics performance director. “London 2017 is the major global sporting event this year and will be the biggest occasion the country has seen since 2012.

“We’ve selected some incredibly talented athletes, and in many events there have been some close calls.

“It’s now up to them to grasp this opportunity and produce performances that will make the whole nation proud.”

In the marathon, Andrew Davies has replaced Robbie Simpson after the Scottish runner withdrew due to a calf injury.

Four British athletes will line up in the women’s 1500m as Muir, who secured her spot as last year’s overall Diamond League winner, is joined by Laura Weightman, Jessica Judd and Sarah McDonald.

Anyika Onuora and Martyn Rooney are confirmed as individual 400m selections.

In keeping with its current philosophy of “selecting a large and competitive team to help inspire the next generation of British track and field stars” there will be a second and final selection meeting on July 24, where any events with unfilled places or available home nation slots will be discussed. It is a contrast to the ‘quality over quantity’ strategy for the London Olympics five years ago.


100m: Reece Prescod, James Dasaolu, CJ Ujah
200m: Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot, Zharnel Hughes
400m: Matt Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Martyn Rooney
800m: Elliot Giles, Guy Learmonth, Kyle Langford
1500m: Chris O’Hare, Josh Kerr, Jake Wightman
5000m: Mo Farah, Andrew Butchart
10,000m: Mo Farah
3000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett, Zak Seddon
110m hurdles: Andrew Pozzi, David King, David Omoregie
400m hurdles: Jack Green
High jump: Robbie Grabarz
Long jump: Greg Rutherford
Triple jump: Nathan Fox
Hammer: Nick Miller
Decathlon: Ashley Bryant
20km walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson
50km walk: Dominic King
Marathon: Callum Hawkins, Josh Griffiths, Andrew Davies
4x100m: CJ Ujah, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot, Zharnel Hughes, Adam Gemili, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Richard Kilty, Reece Prescod
4x400m: Matt Hudson-Smith, Dwayne Cowan, Martyn Rooney, Delano Williams, Rabah Yousif, Jack Green, Cameron Chalmers


100m: Asha Philip, Daryll Neita, Desiree Henry
200m: Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams, Dina Asher-Smith
400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora
800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Adelle Tracey, Lynsey Sharp
1500m: Laura Muir, Laura Weightman, Jessica Judd, Sarah McDonald
5000m: Steph Twell, Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir
10,000m: Beth Potter, Jessica Martin, Charlotte Taylor
3000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke
100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter
400m hurdles: Eilidh Doyle
High jump: Morgan Lake, Katarina Johnson-Thompson
Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw
Long jump: Lorraine Ugen
Discus: Jade Lally
Hammer: Sophie Hitchon
Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson
20km walk: Gemma Bridge, Bethan Davies
Marathon: Alyson Dixon , Charlotte Purdue , Tracy Barlow
4x100m: Asha Philip, Daryll Neita, Desiree Henry, Dina Asher-Smith, Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams, Corinne Humphreys
4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora, Eilidh Doyle, Laviai Nielsen, Perri Shakes-Drayton