National governing body names the 114 athletes to receive support through its World Class Programme

Dina Asher-Smith, Mo Farah, Kare Adenegan and Jonnie Peacock are among the 114 athletes to have been offered membership to British Athletics’ World Class Programme (WCP) for 2018-19.

A total of 14 athletes have been offered ‘Olympic Podium’ membership, while 30 are listed for ‘Paralympic Podium’ support, 27 for ‘Olympic Podium Potential’, 18 for ‘Paralympic Podium Potential’ and 25 for ‘Olympic Relays’. The overall figure of athletes offered support is two more than in 2017-18.

The World Class Programme is UK Sport’s National Lottery-funded initiative and membership for 2018-19 is based upon an athletes’ potential to win a medal at the Tokyo 2020 or Paris 2024 Olympic or Paralympic Games.

Asher-Smith is among the sprinters listed for Olympic Podium level support after a year in which she claimed a European Championships treble, winning gold in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay, and also put herself top of the world rankings in those events, having improved her British 100m and 200m records to 10.85 and 21.89 respectively.

Added to that, the 22-year-old claimed Commonwealth relay gold and 200m bronze for England and finished second in the Diamond League 100m.

This year’s Chicago Marathon winner and London Marathon third-placer Farah, meanwhile, retains his WCP support as the 10-time global gold medallist works towards the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

European long jump bronze medallist Shara Proctor returns to the Olympic Podium list after being dropped in 2017-18, while her fellow medallist from Berlin, Laura Weightman, who claimed 1500m bronze in Germany plus 5000m bronze at the Commonwealth Games, has been added to the Olympic Podium Potential list along with Commonwealth 1500m bronze medallist Melissa Courtney and British champions Tim Duckworth and Naomi Ogbeta.

World indoor 60m hurdles champion Andrew Pozzi, who has recently switched coaches to work with Santiago Antunez in Formia, Italy, is included in the Olympic Podium Potential list, but fellow sprint hurdler Cindy Ofili, who returned to action over the summer after a year out due to a ruptured Achilles, does not retain her place on the Olympic Podium list. European 400m hurdles bronze medallist Meghan Beesley also does not feature.

European 4x100m relay gold medallist Bianca Williams, double World U20 Championships bronze medallist Kristal Awuah and Scottish 200m record-breaker Beth Dobbin are among those joining at Olympic Relays level.

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, who anchored England and GB to Commonwealth and European 4x100m titles respectively this year, was not included on last year’s World Class Programme and is again among those to miss out.

Sprint hurdlers David King and David Omoregie, hammer thrower Chris Bennett, 400m runner Seren Bundy-Davies and sprinter Delano Williams are among those to lose their WCP support.

At Paralympic Podium level, David Devine is rewarded for his European T13 5000m title while his fellow champions Harri Jenkins and Thomas Young are among those added for Paralympic Podium Potential support.

“The past 12 months have been filled with vital competitions as we head towards Tokyo 2020 and a whole host of athletes have risen to the challenge and demonstrated their quality when it matters most,” said British Athletics performance director Neil Black.

“The 114 athletes being offered membership on to the World Class Programme for 2018-19 reflects the great amount of strength we possess building towards Tokyo 2020 and beyond that towards Paris 2024.”

On Farah’s continued membership on the World Class Programme, he added: “Mo has had a fantastic first year concentrating on road racing as we knew he would. His performances in London and Chicago were what we expected of a truly world class athlete. We will continue to support Mo in his ambitions and we look forward to potentially welcoming him on to the British team for the IAAF World Championships in 2019 as part of his preparations for the marathon at Tokyo 2020.”

British Athletics Paralympic head coach Paula Dunn said: “Once again I’m delighted that we are offering membership of World Class Programme to such a strong cohort of athletes.

“After a successful World Para Athletics European Championships and Commonwealth Games in 2018, we have been able to add six high-quality athletes to the Programme who have achieved excellent progress throughout the year.

“We have a depth of strength throughout the Programme which sets us up for not only the World Para Athletics Championships in Dubai in 2019 and the Paralympic Games in Tokyo in 2020, but the next cycle as we head towards Paris 2024.”

Athletes can use their discretion should they not wish to accept membership to the WCP. Endurance athletes funded separately to the WCP will be announced on November 23, while British Athletics Futures Programme athletes will be announced on November 20.

British Athletics World Class Programme 2018-19

Olympic Podium
Dina Asher-Smith
Holly Bradshaw
Mo Farah
Callum Hawkins
Sophie Hitchon
Zharnel Hughes
Katarina Johnson-Thompson
Morgan Lake
Nick Miller
Laura Muir
Reece Prescod
Shara Proctor
Lynsey Sharp
Lorraine Ugen

Olympic Podium Potential
Tom Bosworth
Andrew Butchart
Taylor Campbell
Rosie Clarke
Melissa Courtney
Tim Duckworth
Niamh Emerson
Tom Gale
Elliot Giles
Charlie Da’Vall Grice
Dewi Griffiths
Adam Hague
Josh Kerr
Kyle Langford
Eilish McColgan
Sarah McDonald
Naomi Ogbeta
Shelayna Oskan-Clarke
Andrew Pozzi
Jemma Reekie
Daniel Rowden
Jazmin Sawyers
Katie Snowden
Adelle Tracey
Laura Weightman
Jake Wightman
Callum Wilkinson

Olympic Relays
Finette Agyapong
Amy Allcock
Kristal Awuah
Cameron Chalmers
Zoey Clark
Dwayne Cowan
Emily Diamond
Beth Dobbin
Eilidh Doyle
Miguel Francis
Adam Gemili
Desiree Henry
Matthew Hudson-Smith
Richard Kilty
Imani-Lara Lansiquot
Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake
Daryll Neita
Ashleigh Nelson
Laviai Nielsen
Asha Philip
Martyn Rooney
Danny Talbot
CJ Ujah
Bianca Williams
Rabah Yousif

Paralympic Podium
Kare Adenegan
Hollie Arnold
Paul Blake
Olivia Breen
Jonathan Broom-Edwards
Mickey Bushell
Jo Butterfield
Richard Chiassaro
Libby Clegg
Chris Clarke (guide runner)
Hannah Cockroft
Kadeena Cox
Aled Davies
David Devine
Kyron Duke
Sabrina Fortune
Dan Greaves
Sophie Hahn
Georgina Hermitage
Jordan Howe
Sophie Kamlish
Samantha Kinghorn
Maria Lyle
Stephen Miller
Jonnie Peacock
Gemma Prescott
Stef Reid
Andrew Small
Isaac Towers
Richard Whitehead

Paralympic Podium Potential
Martina Barber
Craig Boardman
Dan Bramall
Harri Jenkins
Mo Jomni
Dillon Labrooy
Nathan Maguire
Polly Maton
Derek Rae
Zac Shaw
Luke Sinnott
Zak Skinner
Ali Smith
JohnBoy Smith
Vanessa Wallace
Eve Walsh-Dann
Thomas Young

» This post was updated following confirmation from British Athletics that Ojie Edoburun has turned down his offer of membership and David Weir has been added to the Paralympic World Class Programme and will join the Podium Potential section